Users, Roles and Permissions

What are Users?

Anyone who visits your website is a user, including you. The iText website gives you a powerful set of tools which gives you control over what certain visitors can see and edit, based on who they are. There are three “categories” of users. Users who are not logged in, users who are logged in, and an administrator that was automatically created when the site was installed.

What are Roles?

All users are assigned one or more roles. A role is a “type” of user. Users who are not logged in only have one role, Anonymous user. Users who are logged in can be assigned multiple roles, but by default are assigned the role of Authenticated user. Another role included by default is Administrator. The administrator created when the site was installed is automatically assigned this role, but it can be given to any user. You can add additional roles to the site, and assign them to specific users in any combination.

What are Permissions?

Each role is granted a set of permissions. Everything a user does on the site requires a permission. This includes viewing or editing content, managing site configuration, and even assigning roles and permissions.

By default, the Anonymous user and Authenticated user roles are granted a limited set of permissions, while the Administrator role is granted all permissions.

When new functionality is added to the site, often one or more permissions are added as well. Users with the Administrator role are automatically granted all new permissions, but they must be granted to other roles manually.